#BODYHAIR

ruth emily

On 22nd March 2015 my dear and inspirational friend Anais Charles published a piece on her blog about Shame and Women’s Body Hair. You may wonder why I begin my first blog post here with a link elsewhere, but Anais’ blog post wasinfluentialfor me – both in beginning myfirst(public)blog, and in beginning to accept my own bodyin its natural form.


I was one of her muses, a word I don’t mind using in this context, even though I have found it problematic before (a model, a muse…something to be gazed at). I participated in her photoshoot. I showed my body hair, I WORE my body hair, proudly, whilst she photographed me. It was an intimate experience. It was at times an uncomfortable experience – I don’t like to see myself in photographs unless I have full control. It was, however…

View original post 1,791 more words

Leave a Reply

